A Fading Flower, his first personal
release in 1995 on the stories about the
CantOpera actress PAK Suet-sin.
It has received awards
in various film festival, including:

1. Italy: “COPPA CASSA DI
RISPARMIO DI FIRENZE di Montecatini Terme”
in “FilmVideo’97”

2. United States of America: “Bronze CINDY”
in “The 38th Annual International CINDY
Competition 1997”

3. United States of America: “Honorable Mention”
in “The 45th Annual Columbus
International Film & Video Festival” (1997)

4. United Kingdom: “Bronze Seal Award”
in “International Film & Video Festival 1997”

5. Austria: “Ebenseer Baren in Bronze”
in “Festival der Nationen” (1997)


Being one of the founder of Utopia Cantonese Opera Workshop (1999), Rex Ng is the first graduate of the Advanced Diploma in Performing Arts (Cantonese Opera) full time course (2003) of The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts, a graduate from Faculty of TV Production of Asia Television Training Institute (1990) and a member of the Cantonese Opera Advisory Committee (2006-2008) as appointed by Government Secretarial – Home Affairs Bureau. Rex is now the Chief Executive & Creative Officer of Utopia Cantonese Opera Workshop.

Cantonese Opera Directing Works include:
III Domains: Human, Ghost & Deity﹝Premiere (2000), Rerun (2002), Third Run (2008)﹞, A Rose in a Tempest (2006), Romance in a Labyrinth (2008), Martyrdom (2013), III Madames (2013), III Masks (2013), ArenA﹝Rerun (2015), Seoul Black Box Version (2017)﹞. Chinese Operatic Song Concerts include: After the May Fourth Movement - CantOpera Xiaoqu Inter-school Competition All-star CantOpera performance (2004), Jaded Lovers‧Drift (2006), Born Again‧Depart (2006), His Butterflies﹝Premiere (2014), Rerun (2016)﹞etc.

Video Directing Works include:
TV advertisement: China Motion Telecom - In Pairs (1997); enterprise image video production: Ricoh – Road to Success (1994), HKAPA-School of Music (1998), HKAPA - School of Technical Arts (1998); short video productions: A Fading Flower (1995), Females in the Eyes of Stanley KWAN (1996), commissioned production with Hong Kong Film Archive: a documentary short video for the 15th Anniversary of the Death of Kim-fai Yam - Let It Be (2004), A Dying Phoenix (2008); TV short video production co-operated with LO Wai-luen, Stanley KWAN and Anthony LUN: Short Video on PAK Suet-sin, Life Time Achievement Award winner in The 20th Hong Kong Film Awards Presentation Ceremony (2001); Making of advertisement for Hutchison Telecom - Leon-Fishing (2005); web short video production: West Kowloon Bamboo Theatre 2013 - Takes you down memory lane, Cantonese opera, Contemporary Music, Dance, Fair, Exhibition, etc.

Live Video Recording Works include:
LO King-man’s opera series: La Traviata, Lucia di Lammermoor, Turandot, Aida, The Merry Widow, Lo Boheme, Night Banquet, The Tomb of Three Kings, Carmen, Tosca, Il Trovatore, Madama Butterfly and Macbeth; Drama: Red Sky and Secret Love in Peach Blossom Land directed by Stan Lai, De Ling and Empress Dowager Ci Xi directed by Daniel Yang, Forever and Ever by Fredric Mao, Peer Gynt directed by Michael Bogdanov, The Naked Eyes directed by HO Ying-fung; Musical drama: Ricky my Love directed by Daniel Yang, 1941 Girl! directed by Roy Szeto, West Side Story directed by Jacob Yu, The Border Town directed by Victor Pang; Stand-up comedy: WONG Chi-wai Stand-up Comedy: Where are you going next?, CHEUNG Tat-ming on Stage Solo: Deliberately Inflammatory, Freemen Show II; Concert: Anthony Lun Under The Roof; Cantonese Opera Production: organized by Art of Cantonese Opera - Cao Cao and Yang Xiu, Madame She, June Snow and Goddess of Luo, Cantonese Opera Treasures in the 38th Hong Kong Arts Festival - The Imperial Emperor of Heaven Holding Court, A Fairy Delivers Her Son to the Mortal Father, Birthday Feast on the Mountain of Fragrant Flowers, Prime Minister of Six States, Why Don’t You Return?, Princess Changping, etc.

Playwright Works include:
Reorganize : A Rose in a Tempest (2006), White Jacket (2013) (with CHEUNG Kwan-hin ), Netherworld Judgement (2013) (with CK), Grabbing Herbs (2013) (with CK), Mou Cung Revenges (2013) (with CK), Co-Playwrights with CK : ArenA (2011), Martyrdom (2013) (adapted from Shakespeare’s Romeo & Juliet), etc.

Publications include:
Planning: Brochure for Revisit III DOMAINS (2002); Planning & Production: Cantonese Opera Xiaoqu – Multi-discipline teaching material (2004); Art Editor: Cantonese Opera –So La Do Textbook(2004) for Education and Manpower Bureau, HKSAR; Script Editing and Layout Design: Waiting Heart Chinese-English Bilingual Script: based on manuscripts used for the first season of staging (2016), etc.

Education:
Production:"Teaching Guide on Cantonese Opera for Primary and Secondary Music Teachers" project presented by Arts Education Section, Curriculum Development Institute, Education Department (2002);Planning & Production:obtaining the Quality Education Fund to facilitate "the Cantonese Opera: Xiaoqu Teaching Experimental Programme in primary and secondary schools" (2003-04);Planning & Production:obtaining the Hong Kong Arts Development Council to facilitate"Cantonese Opera Teaching in Regular Secondary School Curriculum" project with YCH Lan Chi Pat Memorial Secondary School(2004); Production:the Greater Pearl River Delta Cultural Cooperation Project's feature activity of the International Conference on Contonese Opera:"Floral Princess"-The 50th Anniversary Youth Edition (2007) ; Coordinator:"Integrate Cantonese Opera in Education" project operated by The University of Hong Kong Faculty of Education (2007-08)

ArenA
Canto-opera Playwright & Director
Short Video on PAK Suet-sin,
Life Time Achievement
Award winner in The 20th
Hong Kong Film Awards
Presentation Ceremony
Idea & Production
Let It Be
a documentary short video
for the 15th Anniversary
of the Death of Yam Kim-fai
Video Director
Females in the Eyes
of Stanley KWAN
Video Director
Making of Leon-Fishing
Video Director
De Ling and
Empress Dowager Ci Xi
Video Director
III Domains:
Human,
Ghost & Deity
Canto-opera Director

1995年首度個人發表,
以粵劇演員白雪仙女士為主題之
錄像導演作品《香夭‧夢遊仙蹤鳴留別》
曾於各地影展獲獎,包括:

1. 意大利“FilmVideo’97”
獲頒“COPPA CASSA DI RISPARMIO DI
FIRENZE di Montecatini Terme”

2. 美國 “The 38th Annual International
CINDY Competition 1997”
獲頒 “Bronze CINDY”

3. 美國 “The 45th Annual Columbus
International Film & Video Festival” (1997)
獲頒 “Honorable Mention”

4. 英國“International Film
& Video Festival 1997”
獲頒 “Bronze Seal Award”

5. 奧地利 “Festival der Nationen” (1997)
獲頒 “Ebenseer Baren in Bronze”


「桃花源粵劇工作舍」創辦人之一(1999)、「香港演藝學院」演藝深造文憑(粵劇)全日制課程首屆畢業(2003)、「香港亞洲電視訓練學院」助理編導班畢業(1990)、「民政事務局」委任為「粵劇發展諮詢委員會」委員(2006-2008)、現為「桃花源粵劇工作舍」營運及創作總監。

粵劇及粵曲舞台導演作品:
粵劇作品有:《三界‧人鬼神》﹝首演(2000)、重演(2002)、三度公演(2008)﹞;《西施》(2006);《蝶影紅梨記》(2008);死亡別狂傲三部曲《殉情記》(2013)、《三女性》(2013)及《三面譜》(2013);《拜將臺》重演(2015)、首爾公演(2017)﹞等。粵曲演唱會作品有:《五四之後‧粵曲小曲校際比賽名伶匯演》(2004);《紅樓夢‧如夢》(2006);《牡丹亭驚夢‧生離》(2006)等;劇場演唱會作品有:《香夭‧生死相許蝴蝶夢》﹝首演(2014)、重演(2016) ﹞等。

錄像影片導演作品:
電視廣告作品有:China Motion Telecom《成雙成對》(1997);企業形像影片作品有:《理光成功之旅》(1994)、《香港演藝學院音樂學院》(1998)、《香港演藝學院科藝學院》(1998);短片作品有:《香夭‧夢遊仙蹤鳴留別》(1995)、《關錦鵬眼中的女性群像》(1996)、香港電影資料館委約製作任劍輝逝世十五周年紀錄短片《香夭‧一任魂夢飄渺間》(2004)、《桃花雨劫》(2008);電視短片作品有:第二十屆香港電影金像獎委約(意念及製作)《終身成就獎‧白雪仙短片》(2001);製作特輯作品有:和記電訊廣告《黎明‧FISHING》(2005);網絡短片:西九大戲棚2013‧《城市記憶》《粵劇《當代音樂》《舞蹈》市集《展覽》等。

舞台演出現場錄像導演作品:
盧景文歌劇作品系列之《茶花女》、《魂斷南山》、《杜蘭朵》、《阿伊達》、《風流寡婦》、《波希米亞生涯》、《夜宴》、《三王墓》、《卡門》、《托斯卡》、《遊唱詩人》、《蝴蝶夫人》及《馬克白》;話劇方面有賴聲川導演之《紅色的天空》及《暗戀桃花源》、楊世彭導演之《德齡與慈禧》、毛俊輝導演之《地久天長》、Michael Bogdanov導演之《培爾金特》、何應豐導演的《尋人的眼睛》;音樂劇方面有楊世彭導演之《歷奇》、司徒慧焯導演之《遇上1941的女孩》、余振球導演之《夢斷維港》;彭鎮南導演之《邊城》;棟篤笑方面有:黃子華棟篤笑之《跟住去邊度?》、張達明《一咀Show之蓄意縱火》、《鬚根Show 2》;演唱會方面有:《倫永亮一夜笙歌》;粵劇製作方面有:粵劇戲台主辨之《曹操與楊修》、《佘太君》、《六月雪》、《洛神》;第38屆香港藝術節「百年回顧八和鳴」之《玉皇登殿》、《天姬送子》、《香花山大賀壽》、《六國大封相》、《故不歸》、《帝女花》等。

劇本作品:
改編:粵劇《西施》(2006)、聯同張群顯合作粵劇折子戲《白羅衫》(2013)、《冥判》(2013)、《盜仙草》(2013)及《武松復仇》(2013)等;原創:聯同張群顯合作粵劇《拜將臺》(2011)及《殉情記》(2013) (取材自莎士比亞《羅密歐與茱麗葉》) 等。

出版作品:
策劃:粵劇《三界‧人鬼神》重演特刊《三界重蹈》(2002);策劃及製作:粵曲小曲《跨學科教材》(2004);美術編輯:香港教育統籌局《粵劇合士上》教材套(2004);劇本整理及美術編輯:《紫釵記》首輪演出劇本及英文譯本(2016) 等。

藝術教育:
製作:協助香港教育署藝術教育組推行《粵劇實驗教學工作坊》(2002);策劃及製作:獲優質教育基金資助,於中小學推行《粵曲小曲實驗教學計劃》(2003-04);策劃及製作:獲香港藝術發展局資助,與仁濟醫院靚次伯紀念中學合辨《中學正規課程粵劇試教計劃》(2004);製作:粵港澳文化合作項目「粵劇國際研討會:情尋足跡二百年」活動─《帝女花》五十周年紀念青年版粵劇演出(2007);顧問:香港大學教育學院中文教育研究中心之《粵劇小豆苗:融合中國語文科新高中課程計劃》(2007-08)

拜將臺
粵劇原創劇本及導演作品
第二十屆香港電影金像獎
終身成就獎白雪仙女士短片
錄像意念作品
香夭‧一任魂夢飄渺間
任劍輝逝世十五周年紀錄片
錄像導演作品
關錦鵬眼中的女性群像
紀錄短片導演作品
黎明‧FISHING
製作特輯導演作品
德齡與慈禧
舞台演出現場錄像導演作品
三界‧人鬼神
粵劇導演作品